vd covers

The rumor on the web is that L.J. Smith is being fired from completing The Vampire Diaries book series, the very books which inspired the show on the CW. As much as I hate to say it – this rumor is true. Yesterday, the author confirmed the terrible news on her blog. Here's what she wrote to fans on her official blog:

"...if you’ve asked me a question about the future books or the endgame of The Vampire Diaries and I’ve been vague about what’s in store, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize.  I really wasn’t  looking forward to the day when I would have to talk about this."

Smith continued by asking fans not to hold a boycott towards Harper, the publishing company behind the books.

"...I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper’s or anyone.  It just doesn’t make sense.  Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there’s no point in not trying the new books.  (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.)  Besides which, Midnight, which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in Phantom."

Jeez. This is absolutely ridiculous. Grr.

I am sure all of you are wondering  how an author can be fired from their own book series, well, the sad truth is that while Smith writes the books, she doesn’t actually own the rights to The Vampire Diaries, Alloy Entertainment does. L.J. Smith was hired to write the series back in the early 90s, when they were first published. She will now be replaced by a ghostwriter who will complete the series instead of Smith. If you’re wondering, a ghostwriter is someone that writes under another person’s name but isn’t listed as the author. For example, most celebrities don’t write their own autobiographies (even though their name in on the cover), they have a ghostwriter do it. So this means that the new books will have “L.J. Smith” listed as the author, but the truth is that she actually isn’t, it’s some random person doing the writing and using her name.

As for the reason L.J. Smith was fired from the series – creative differences.

How do you guys feel about this? I know we have a lot of L.J. Smith fans here. How do you feel about some random ass author writing The Vampire Diaries story under Smith’s own name?

- Moonlight

About the Author

Moonlight (aka Amanda) loves to write about, read about and learn about everything pertaining to vampires. She writes for top genre sites like vampires.com and werewolves.com. You will most likely find her huddled over a book of vampire folklore with coffee in hand. Touch her coffee and she may bite you (and not in the fun way). You can stalk her via her Twitter http://twitter.com/deaaqua