Review of Angel: After the Fall

Finally catching up on my comic to-read list, I spent an entire wondrous day reading Angel: After the Fall, a 17-issue series of comics written by Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel creator Joss Whedon. It was a damn good day.

After both of his shows ended, Buffy at Season 7 and Angel at Season 5, creator Joss Whedon continued the stories of both Buffy and Angel in a separate series of comics. Angel’s story continues in IDW’s After the Fall.

Written by Brian Lynch and plotted with Joss Whedon, Angel: After the Fall takes place shortly after the final episode of Angel. The last we saw of Angel and the others they were dealing with hell on earth… literally. After taking over and then betraying the evil law firm Wolfram & Hart, the city of Los Angeles was sent to hell. After the Fall follows Angel as he deals with the apocalyptic aftermath caused by his actions. And in good old fashioned Angel tradition, we journey with Angel as he attempts to right his wrongs.

Artwork: 5 out of 5
So many artists were part of this entire series. Whenever there was a dream sequence or a flashback they brought in a different artist to capture the moment, and it was fantastic. I loved seeing so many different styles in one comic series. Some artists were better than others, but overall I am in love with the artwork in After the Fall. As for the main artist, that was Franco Urru. I liked his style a lot and it worked well with the series, but, there were moments when I wished the characters looked a bit more like themselves. All in all I loved what I saw.

Story: 5 out of 5
SO GOOD! So very good. Characters you thought were dead came back (true to Buffy/Angel tradition), characters you thought would live, didn’t. It was glorious. The story was complex, full of unexpected twists and turns, and it featured a battle between a dragon and a t-rex. How can you not enjoy that? Overall the story was very dark, but as every Angel fan knows, even in the darkest episodes there was a touch of humor, and the comics have that. There were many heartbreaking moments within those 17 issues, but there were also loads that had me laughing out loud. The hardcore Buffy/Angel fangirl in me is madly in love with After the Fall.

If you’re an Angel fan I highly suggest reading After the Fall. It is amazing!

For those who want to read Angel: After the Fall (and you totally should), all 17 issues have been compiled into four volumes, which you can buy over at Amazon:
Volume 1
Volume 2
Volume 3
Volume 4

– Moonlight

By Moonlight

Moonlight (aka Amanda) loves to write about, read about and learn about everything pertaining to vampires. You will most likely find her huddled over a book of vampire folklore with coffee in hand. Touch her coffee and she may bite you (and not in the fun way).


  1. Pingback: vampires
  2. Pingback: David Blue

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: